Electric Dreams: Philip K Dick TV show adds Lara Pulver

“An anthology series that brings together global stars of the calibre of Bryan Cranston and Ronald D. Moore” was how Channel 4’s Jay Hunt described Philip K Dick’s Electric Dreams when it was first announced last year. Another name can be added to that list today – Lara Pulver, who you’ll remember as Sherlock‘s Irene Adler, will star in one of the ten episodes.

Variety broke the news of Pulver’s involvement in the show (which is a co-production between Channel 4 and Amazon Prime Video), but offered no details about which character she’ll be playing in which episode. Of course, as more details emerge, we’ll pass them straight onto you.

Variety’s report also notes that Terrence Howard (Iron Man, Empire) and Anna Paquin (X-Men, True Blood) have joined the series’ sprawling cast. They’ll be seen in an episode entitled Real Life, which boasts a script by Battlestar Galactica and Star Trek veteran Ronald D. Moore and direction from Friday Night Lights‘ Jeffrey Reiner.

Timothy Spall was also added to the cast recently. He’ll be playing the lead role in the series’ adaptation of Dick’s short story The Commuter.

The Commuter is the first episode of the planned ten-part strand to be filmed. It’s the story of Ed Jacobson (Spall), “an unassuming employee at a train station who is alarmed to discover that a number of daily commuters are taking the train to a town that shouldn’t exist.”

War & Peace and Peaky Blinders‘ Tom Harper is directing The Commuter, which was adapted by the busiest man in UK screenwriting, Jack Thorne (National Treasure, This Is England, His Dark Materials).

Joining Mr Spall in the episode are Rudi Dharmalingham, Tuppence Middleton, Anne Reid, Ann Akin, I, Daniel Blake‘s Hayley Squires, Tom Brooke, Nicole Agada, Marko Leht, Matthew Raymond and Naveed Khan. Production is already underway on The Commuter in London.

More news on Philip K Dick’s Electric Dreams as it arrives. 

Channel 4

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *